Thursday, February 4, 2016

The Five Love Languages

 photo 29135022149e82fcbe9e15dcd0a63c2a_zpssewll63o.jpg

I have always been fascinated by Gary Chapman's book, The Five Love Languages Of Love. For those not familiar with the book or the concept, the basic principle is that each person has a primary love language--something which means "love" to them. You feel most loved when someone responds to you in your love language, and it is also the way you naturally express your love to others.
I took the online test again this morning, just to get my most accurate results.  Here are how my scores came out:
7Physical Touch
7Words of Affirmation
6Quality Time
6Receiving Gifts
4Acts of Service

What Each Language Means

1) Physical Touch: This isn't all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face – they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive. Physical touch fosters a sense of security and belonging in any relationship.

2) Words of Affirmation: Actions don't always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, "I love you," are important – hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten. Kind, encouraging, and positive words are truly life-giving.

3) Quality Time: In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, "I love you," like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there – with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby – makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Quality Time also means sharing quality conversation and quality activities.

4) Receiving Gifts: Don't mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous – so would the absence of everyday gestures. Gifts are visual representations of love and are treasured greatly.

5) Acts Of Service: Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an "Acts of Service" person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: "Let me do that for you." Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don't matter. Finding ways to serve speaks volumes to the recipient of these acts.

Barry's scores don't come out in the exact same order as mine. but we do share physical touch as one of our main love languages--his second is quality time, which I need to remember and honor more often.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...